Executive Committee of the World Veterinary Poultry Association

Here is the current executive committee.


Sjaak De Wit
Prof. Sjaak De Wit

Sjaak received his Doctor of Veterinary Medicine degree from the Utrecht University in the Netherlands in 1989 and obtained his PhD at the same university in 1997. The title of his thesis was Infectious bronchitis virus in broilers, detection and transmission. Sjaak has held a permanent position at Royal GD (former GD Animal Health), Deventer, the Netherlands since 1989. He started as poultry veterinarian, his current position at GD is senior researcher. Since 2019, Sjaak combines the position at GD with the position as Professor Integral Poultry Health at the Veterinary Faculty of the Utrecht University.
He has been actively involved in applied research related to the diagnosis and control of poultry diseases, especially viral diseases as IBV, IBDV, NDV, and AI.
Since 2006, he is one of the associate editors of Avian Pathology. In 2007, Sjaak was one of the founding members of the European College for Poultry Veterinary Science. In 2013, he was inducted as an inaugural member of the Hall of Honour of WVPA.

Past President

Nicolas Eterradossi
Dr Nicolas Eterradossi

Nicolas received his Doctor of Veterinary Medicine degree from the National Veterinary School of Nantes, France, in 1989 and specialised in intensive animal production at the National Agronomic School in Rennes, France, in 1990. He was trained as a molecular virologist at the Pasteur institute in Paris (1995) and obtained his PhD in molecular virology from Rennes University (1998).

Nicolas has held a permanent position at the National Laboratory for Avian Pathology (now Anses-Ploufragan Plouzané laboratory) since 1991. He is now assistant head of the laboratory, head of the avian and rabbit virology and parasitology (VIPAC) research unit, and OIE expert for infectious bursal disease and avian metapneumovirus infections.

In 2007, Nicolas was one of the founding members of the European College for Poultry Veterinary Sciences, for which he now serves as Vice President.

Nicolas has been serving as the corresponding secretary of the French branch of WVPA since 2001 and, as such, he contributed to organising the XVIIIth WVPA congress in 2013 in Nantes. He joined the WVPA executive in 2015.

Vice President

 Clara Marin Orenga
Prof. Dr Clara Marin Orenga

Dr. Clara Marín Orenga is a Professor of Microbiology and Avian Infectious Diseases at the Veterinary Faculty of CEU Cardenal Herrera University in Valencia, Spain. She obtained her Doctoral Thesis in 2009 with European Mention. Since 2010, she has been the principal investigator of the research group 'Improvement of food safety in the productive system and its derived products: from farm to fork'. Her research focuses on studying Salmonella epidemiology with the aim of controlling its spread in food. Dr. Marín has been a European Diplomate of the European College of Veterinary Sciences since 2014. She served as the coordinator of the Educational Committee of the European college from 2016 to 2021 and later as a member of the executive committee until 2023. Additionally, she has been an Expert for the European Commission since 2021.


Rafiqul Islam
Prof. Dr Rafiqul Islam

Dr. Md Rafiqul Islam is a veterinary pathologist with special interest in avian pathology. He obtained his PhD from the University of Liverpool, UK. He was a Humboldt Fellow at the Institute of Virology, University of Leipzig, Germany. He has recently retired as a Professor of Veterinary Pathology from Bangladesh Agricultural University. Most of his research work focused on avian reovirus, infectious bursal disease virus and avian influenza virus. He received the Bangladesh Academy of Science Gold Medal for his research contributions. He was the founder President of the Bangladesh Branch of World Veterinary Poultry Association. He was a member of the Editorial Advisory Board of Avian Pathology journal. He was inducted to WVPA Hall of Honor in 2017. Dr. Islam is currently working as the Senior National Technical Advisor – One Health at the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) of the United Nations in Bangladesh.


Thijs Manders
Dr Thijs Manders

added soon

Ordinary Officer

David Swayne
Prof. Dr David Swayne

Dr. David E. Swayne is a veterinarian with specialization as a Veterinary Pathologist and Poultry Veterinarian. For the past 37 years, his personal research has focused on control of avian influenza. He serves in a leadership role at OFFLU, the World Organization for Animal Health (WOAH) and Food and Agriculture Organization network of animal influenza experts. Previously, he served for 28 1/2 years as the Laboratory Director of the Southeast Poultry Research Laboratory of the USDA in Athens, Georgia, USA and for 7 years as a tenured faculty member at The Ohio State University. He is currently a private veterinarian consulting on avian influenza control and an Adjunct Professor in Department of Population Health, Poultry Diagnostic and Research Center, College of Veterinary Medicine at the University of Georgia.

Ordinary Officer

Aini Ideris
Prof. Dr Aini Ideris

Dr Aini pioneered poultry vaccines development in Malaysia and has outstanding contributions in poultry health, nationally and internationally. She plays an instrumental role in advancing efforts towards food security and sustainable food production in developing countries. Based on her contributions, she was elected to various Fellowships, such as, Fellow of The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS), Fellow Islamic World Academy of Sciences (IAS), Senior Fellow Academy of Sciences Malaysia (ASM), Founding Fellow Malaysian College of Veterinary Specialists (MCVS), Fellow Malaysian Scientific Association (MSA) and Fellow Institute of Marketing Malaysia (IMM). She is also, Inaugural Member Hall of Honour, World Veterinary Poultry Association (WVPA).

Dr Aini was the Vice President of WVPA (Global) from 2015-2019 and the Founding President of WVPA (Malaysia). She was the 8th Vice Chancellor of Universiti Putra Malaysia (2016-2020) and currently the Pro-Chancellor of International Medical University Malaysia.

Website Manager

Greg Celliers
Dr Greg Celliers

added soon

View Previous CommiTtee Members online profiles